Dems: Iowans urged to ask legislators to stand by votes

June 24, 2019
By

Iowa Legislature Release
For Immediate Release: June 24, 2019 

 

Medical cannabis veto override is more than halfway to goal

Iowans urged to contact legislators who voted for reforms but have yet to defend their votes

Des Moines, Iowa – Iowans pushing to overturn Governor Reynolds’ veto of medical cannabis reforms are more than halfway to their goal of calling for a special session.

House File 732 would have made substantial improvements to Iowa’s “worst in the nation” medical cannabis law.  It was overwhelmingly approved in April by the Iowa House on a vote of 96 to 3 and by the Iowa Senate on a vote of 40 to 7.

A special session to override the veto will be held if two-thirds of the members of the House (67) and two-thirds of the Senate (34) each submit a written request.

As of Monday, June 24, Iowa’s 18 Democratic State Senators and 47 Democratic State Representatives have all either submitted or plan to submit a request for a special session.

It is unclear whether any of the Republicans who voted for the bill–50 in the House and 24 in the Senate–have requested a special session.

“The voices of ordinary Iowans have gotten us this far.  They need to keep fighting because that is the only way this mean-spirited veto will be overridden,” said Senator Joe Bolkcom.  “I urge every Iowan to encourage Republican legislators to defend their votes for urgently needed Iowa medical cannabis reforms.”

More information about the effort to pass Iowa medical cannabis reform can be found here: http://bit.ly/Override-the-veto

Below is a list of the members of the Iowa House and Senate who voted for Iowa Medical cannabis and who have not yet expressed support for a special session to override the veto.

Sen Waylon Brown, (641)-590-0610, waylon.brown@legis.iowa.gov, St Ansgar

Sen Jake Chapman, (515)-650-3942, jake.chapman@legis.iowa.gov, Adel

Sen Chris Cournoyer, (563)-289-7335, chris.cournoyer@legis.iowa.gov, LeClaire

Sen Jeff Edler, (641)-751-5902, jeff.edler@legis.iowa.gov, State Center

Sen Thomas A. Greene, (319)-750-6579, tom.greene@legis.iowa.gov, Burlington

Sen Dennis Guth, (641)-430-0424, dennis.guth@legis.iowa.gov, Klemme

Sen Craig Johnson, (319)-334-2413, craig.johnson@legis.iowa.gov, Independence

Sen Tim L. Kapucian, (319)-334-2413, tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov, Keystone

Sen Carrie Koelker, (563)-590-5975, carrie.koelker@legis.iowa.gov, Dyersville

Sen Tim Kraayenbrink, (515)-408-4770, tim.kraayenbrink@legis.iowa.gov, Fort Dodge

Sen Mark S. Lofgren, (563)-272-8683, mark.lofgren@legis.iowa.gov, Muscatine

Sen Mariannette Miller-Meeks, (641)-683-7551, mariannette.miller-meeks@legis.iowa.gov, Ottumwa

Sen Zach Nunn, (515)-519-2246, zach.nunn@legis.iowa.gov, Altoona

Sen Ken Rozenboom, (641)-295-6551, ken.rozenboom@legis.iowa.gov, Oskaloosa

Sen Charles Schneider, (515)-657-7375, charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov, West Des Moines

Sen Jason Schultz, (712)-269-2178, jason.schultz@legis.iowa.gov, Schleswig

Sen Mark Segebart, (712)-269-4519, mark.segebart@legis.iowa.gov, Vail

Sen Tom Shipley, (712)-785-3583, tom.shipley@legis.iowa.gov, Nodaway

Sen Amy Sinclair, (641)-870-0199, amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov, Allerton

Sen Roby Smith, (563)-386-0179, roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov, Davenport

Sen Annette Sweeney, (641)-373-4899, annette.sweeney@legis.iowa.gov, Alden

Sen Jack Whitver, (515)-281-3371, jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov, Spirit Lake

Sen Brad Zaun, (515)-276-2025, brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov, Urbandale

Sen Dan Zumbach, (563)-920-5094, dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov, Ryan

Rep Robert P. Bacon, Not Listed, rob.bacon@legis.iowa.gov, Nevada

Rep Michael R. Bergan, (563)-380-3974, michael.bergan@legis.iowa.gov, Dorchester

Rep Brian Best, (712)-830-1844, brian.best@legis.iowa.gov, Glidden

Rep Jacob Bossman, (712)-251-4541, jacob.bossman@legis.iowa.gov, Sioux City

Rep Holly Brink, (641)-295-7111, holly.brink@legis.iowa.gov, Oskaloosa

Rep Gary L. Carlson, (563)-299-7021, gary.carlson@legis.iowa.gov, Muscatine

Rep Dave Deyoe, (515)-382-2352, dave.deyoe@legis.iowa.gov, Nevada

Rep Cecil Dolecheck, (641)-464-2913, cecil.dolecheck@legis.iowa.gov, Mount Ayr

Rep Dean Fisher, (641)-750-3594, dean.fisher@legis.iowa.gov, Montour

Rep Joel Fry, (641)-342-1017, joel.fry@legis.iowa.gov, Osceola

Rep Tedd Gassman, (515)-538-0117, tedd.gassman@legis.iowa.gov, Scarville

Rep Thomas D. Gerhold, (319)-361-2950, thomas.gerhold@legis.iowa.gov, Atkins

Rep Pat Grassley, (319)-214-0351, pat.grassley@legis.iowa.gov, New Hartford

Rep Chris Hagenow, (515)-274-1652, chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov, Urbandale

Rep Mary Ann Hanusa, (712)-256-5159, mary.ann.hanusa@legis.iowa.gov, Council Bluffs

Rep Lee Hein, (319)-480-1997, lee.hein@legis.iowa.gov, Monticello

Rep Ashley Hinson, Not Listed, ashley.hinson@legis.iowa.gov, Marion

Rep Dustin D. Hite, Not Listed, dustin.hite@legis.iowa.gov, Not Listed

Rep Steven Holt, (712)-269-4042, steven.holt@legis.iowa.gov, Denison

Rep Daniel Adair Huseman, (712)-434-5880, dan.huseman@legis.iowa.gov, Aurelia

Rep Jon Jacobsen, Not Listed, jon.jacobsen@legis.iowa.gov, Council Bluffs

Rep Tom Jeneary, (712)-539-1275, tom.jeneary@legis.iowa.gov, Le Mars

Rep Megan Jones, (515)-991-7337, megan.jones@legis.iowa.gov, Not Listed

Rep Bobby Kaufmann, Not Listed, bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov, Wilton

Rep David Kerr, Not Listed, david.kerr@legis.iowa.gov, Morning Sun

Rep Jarad Klein, Not Listed, jarad.klein@legis.iowa.gov, Keota

Rep John Landon, (515)-249-0348, john.landon@legis.iowa.gov, Ankeny

Rep Brian K. Lohse, (515)-519-2347, brian.lohse@legis.iowa.gov, Bondurant

Rep Shannon Lundgren, (515)-428-0809, shannon.lundgren@legis.iowa.gov, Not Listed

Rep David E. Maxwell, (641)-660-0792, dave.maxwell@legis.iowa.gov, Gibson

Rep Ann Meyer, (515)-570-6610, ann.meyer@legis.iowa.gov, Fort Dodge

Rep Joe Mitchell, Not Listed, joe.mitchell@legis.iowa.gov, Not Listed

Rep Gary M. Mohr, Not Listed, gary.mohr@legis.iowa.gov, Bettendorf

Rep Norlin G. Mommsen, (563)-357-9826, norlin.mommsen@legis.iowa.gov, DeWitt

Rep Tom Moore, Not Listed, tom.moore@legis.iowa.gov, Griswold

Rep Anne Osmundson, (563)-880-8227, anne.osmundson@legis.iowa.gov, Volga

Rep Ross C. Paustian, (563)-284-6783, ross.paustian@legis.iowa.gov, Walcott

Rep Sandy Salmon, (319)-987-3021, sandy.salmon@legis.iowa.gov, Janesville

Rep Mike Sexton, (712)-830-3960, mike.sexton@legis.iowa.gov, Rockwell City

Rep Jeff Shipley, (319)-432-3108, jeff.shipley@legis.iowa.gov, Fairfield

Rep David Sieck, Not Listed, david.sieck@legis.iowa.gov, Glenwood

Rep Ray Sorensen, (712)-525-0580, ray.sorensen@legis.iowa.gov, Not Listed

Rep Phil Thompson, Not Listed, phil.thompson@legis.iowa.gov, Not Listed

Rep Jon Thorup, (641)-891-9357, jon.thorup@legis.iowa.gov, Knoxville

Rep Linda L. Upmeyer, (641)-357-8807, linda.upmeyer@legis.iowa.gov, Clear Lake

Rep Skyler Wheeler, (712)-441-7444, skyler.wheeler@legis.iowa.gov, Not Listed

Rep John H. Wills, (712)-330-9492, john.wills@legis.iowa.gov, Spirit Lake

Rep Matt W. Windschitl, (712)-642-4334, matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov, Missouri Valley

Rep Gary Worthan, (712)-732-6340, gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov, Storm Lake

Rep Louis J. Zumbach, Not Listed, louie.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov, Coggon

###

Tags: , , , , ,

TCR's Iowa Legislative Updates provides content from the leadership of each party's caucus in both the Iowa House and Iowa Senate. We hope you find this to be a valuable resource.

We'd love to hear from you! Feel free to email us by clicking here.